12 Houses In Horoscope

Home / 12 Houses

The 12 Houses In Vedic Astrology

Ultimate Guide To 12 Houses In Horoscope

Vedic astrology is started from the “Vedas”. It is the research of planets, moon, sun, stars according to one’s horoscope. With the belief that their changes have an impact on our body and surroundings. Houses in Vedic Astrology explains and divides the exact areas of a person’s life depending on his horoscope which is found out on the basis of a person’ exact time and location and date of birth.

Meaning of Houses in Vedic Astrology

The 360 zodiac divided equally into 12 sections of 30 degrees sparately. Each section is called a sign. Starting from Aries and to Pisces. Each house means/ rule over multiple stuffs in a person’s life. These houses are called as ‘Bhaav’.

The Meaning of Each House

1st House : Tanu Bhava
2nd House : Dhana Bhava or Kutumba Bhava
3rd House : Buddhi Bhava
4th House : Bandhu Bhava
5th House : Putra Bhava
6th House : Ari Bhava or Shatru Bhava
7th House : Yuvati Bhava
8th House : Ayu Bhava
9th House : Dharma Bhava
10th House : Karma Bhava
11th House : Labha Bhava
12th House : Vairagya Bhava

12 Houses & Their Significations

the 12 houses just like 12 zodiac signs bulid the foundation for one’s life. Together they form a 360° angle as the total of birth chart has 12 equal sections comprising each house. 12 zodiac signs i.e., Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Libra, Virgo, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces. Along with that, there are five aspects in the nature. Earth (Bhumi), water (Jala), fire (Agni), air (Vaayu) and sky (Aakash) as specified in the Vedas. Each house is related with a set of traits, beginning from the self, and increasing outward into society and beyond. At the point you were born, the planets were all in specific signs and houses.

Combination of Houses

The Trine in Horoscope

The Trikonas have their own meanings.For Trinity of Dharma or Spiritual For Action 1, 5, 9;
For Profession – 2-6-10;
for Marriage – 3-7-11;
for Child Birth – 2-5-11 and
for Foreign Land – 3-9-12.

Trinity of Dharma or Spiritual Action

The Trine 1, 5, 9 suggest the present, future and past, and the Native himself-his kids-His Father (the circle of Evolution). The ninth House of last birth is fifith House of current Birth. The 10th House of the Last Birth is the sixth House of current Birth. To have a remedial measure work in this life, one needs to have his 5th and 9th House strong. The fifth and ninth House divulge the real quality of a native. 1, 5 & 9 are good houses which provide health, wealth, blessings, good luck, education/ wisdom, status etc.

Trinity of Artha or Wealth

2-6-10 – Teenth House signifies the name and fame gained through profession. Sixth House represents day to day work. Without work, one cannot have name-fame and dhana! Second House represents dhana or income. Even if all these Houses are spoilt, the teenth House a personis not down at all – at least not for 2 square meals, if one works truthfully and honestly. That is why we never find any normal worker also sleeping hungry at night.

Trinity of Going Abroad

3-9-12 – Without any of these 3 Houses turn on, anyone cannot go abroad.

Trinity of Kama or Relationships

3-7-11 – For business success, one requires sincere efforts, and help from the Seventh House of relations and the Eleveth House of Gains. The Third House represents communications with people represented through the Seventh House, through whom you will acquire gains (the 11th House).

Trinity of Moksha or Final Liberation of Soul

4-8-12 is called as the graveyard of all planets. Here, the wealth is invisible. Eighth is the Mystery House – through this House, anyone can get income which is not earned. Twelveth is the House of Expenditures, consumptions, and Investments.

The Quadrant in Horoscope

Kendra, Succedent, Cadent. The First, teenth, seventh and fourth house are main pillars of a astrology. They are Kown as the Angu¬lar or Cardinal or Kendra (meaning center in Vedic Astrology) homes. The next houses to the edges or Kendra viz. second, fifth, Eighth and Eleventh is kown as the Fixed or Succedent or Panapara (meaning material or money related in Vedic Astrology). The going on four houses viz. third, Sixth, Ninth and Twelveth is kown as the Cadent or Mutable or Apoklima (meaning to decline, lessen or expense).


The most important houses are the First, fourth, Seventh, and teenth houses. These are called the "angular houses" because their cusps coincide with the 4 special angles: ascendant, I.C., descendant, and M.C.. Planets in the angular houses will impect you the most. 1,4,7 and 10 are Kown as a ‘Kendra’ or in the Center or important houses as they rule over most of the vital stuffs in our day to day lives.

Succedent- 2,5,8,11- (like a fixed) Accumulation of resources- keeping what we have fifth, eleventh ,second, eighth. Income houses. fifith – speculation, eleventh through income, second personal work eighth inheritance. Also mind self expression, fifth, interlligence, second speech, eighth insight worldly communication.

Candent- 3,6,9,12 (Like a mutable) give sensitivity, adaptability, hight intelligence- but unstable, uncertain- mental or nevous problems. Good for spirital development ninth, third, sixth, twelveth, sixth, and twelveth difficult for health and happiness- ninth and twelveth more spiritual. Third and sixth give conflict and striving.

Trik Houses

Houses 6, 8 & 12 are kown as a ‘dusthanas’ (or bad houses) as they represent stuffs which oppose us and provide us agony, losses, grief and pain. Human life falls under two grand sections- fortunes and misfortunes. The complete horoscope is divided into 12 houses. Out of these 12 houses 6 are recognized to be favourable and 6 as troublesome. House number 6, 8 and 12 are considered as the most unfavourable houses of all the houses and are grouped together as Trik Houses. These trik houses are individually most efficient to produce evil results and situations in natives life. But if they interchange their positions i.e if lord of sixth is placed in the eighth or lord of eighth placed in the sixth or lord of sixth placed in the twelvth or vice-versa , they produce good results.

Interpreting The Houses In Your Own Birth Chart

This is where the basics of horoscope start. Moon placed sign is kown as Rashi. Sign of first house is kown as Lagna in Vedic Astrology. Moon is kown as mind (Mann) of person and Lagna is person himself.Person has special concern in king of Lagna and moon placed houses of horoscope. 12 Rashis has in vedic Astrology, each Rashi is spread to 30 degree. When an fortuneteller interprets your chart, she blends the meaning of each planet, the house it’s in, and the sign it’s in, to map the obstacles or gifts you’ll face in this lifetime. When planets visit a house, they light up that part of your birth chart, and energize that house’s traits. soothsayer uses the houses to predict which parts of your life will come into focus, and where you can take the best possible action.


Our Address

Acharya Shailesh Tiwary E 132 gk part 1 Second floor


+1 (866) 540-2983







Copyrights © 2019 All Rights Reserved by Acharya Shailesh Tiwary Ji